April’s Fool

The fool says in his heart,
‘There is no God.’
~Psalm 14:1 NIV

When the Lord placed Psalm 14:1 on my heart, my first reaction was why? I’m not a fool. Then the Lord asked me to look close at the definition of fool. Very close.

Fool in Hebrew is‎ nabal, which means “stupid; wicked; especially impious.” Have I ever been these things? Have I sinned against God by digging my heals in and doing things my way? Have there been times when, like Peter, I have doubted the very existence of the One I said I would follow to the ends of the earth? Have I said “yes, Lord,” then turned around and done the opposite, like Jonah? Have I questioned God’s motives like Job? Have I said “Not me, Lord!” like Moses?

According to Merriam-Webster, fool also means “a person lacking in judgment or prudence.” Has my judgment ever waned? Have I acted without discipline? Thrown caution to the wind? Have I ever been a fool?

Unfortunately, the answer is “yes.”

As we usher in April 1st, and people around the world celebrate foolishness, let us remember what being a “fool” really means. And although there will be times when we will, no doubt, sink back into foolish behavior, let us also remember we serve a God who gives our feet sound footing, who replaces foolishness with wisdom, and who offers grace, mercy and new beginnings to all who call upon His name.

Lord, I do not want to be a fool. Yet despite all that, I know at times I am. Paul said it so well in Romans 7:21-25: “It seems to be a fact of life that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love to do God’s will so far as my new nature is concerned; but there is something else deep within me, in my lower nature, that is at war with my mind and wins the fight and makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. In my mind I want to be God’s willing servant, but instead I find myself still enslaved to sin. So you see how it is: my new life tells me to do right, but the old nature that is still inside me loves to sin. Oh, what a terrible predicament I’m in! Who will free me from my slavery to this deadly lower nature? Thank God! It has been doneby Jesus Christ our Lord. He has set me free.”

So thank you, Lord, for freeing me from sin and foolishness. For standing by me, even at my lowest point. For paying a debt I cannot pay. And for taking on the burden of death so that I can live with You forever. You are truly worthy to be praised! 

About J. N. Hups

I am the author of a 9-part young adult speculative fiction book series called THE CHRONICLES OF SPECTOR. The first book is due to release February 29, 2016, with Mt. Cydesh Publishing Co. Between 2006 - 2014, I served as president, vice president, and secretary of ACFW North Denver, a local chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), and in 2008 was part of a team that implemented social networking and web presence for the ACFW chapters in Colorado. A native Coloradoan, I live in Westminster with my husband of 36 years. I have four grown children, and three "perfect" grandchildren with another on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

