Perspective

Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. ~1 Corinthians 13:12 NIV

Have you ever looked at your reflection in something that was skewed or distorted? Maybe it was dim or hard to see? During Paul’s time, mirrors were nothing more than slightly convex disks of metal, either bronze, tin, or silver, that reflected light off their polished surfaces. They did not have the refractive backing of mirrors today; thus, images were always crude and misshapen.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen myself as a crude, distorted imitation of who God made me to be. Through my eyes I’m warped, cracked, discolored, dimly lit. I see myself as the glass half empty instead of half full. I see my life as a maze of endless stairways going up, down, and sideways. My perspective becomes as messed up as the skewed image of myself on a poorly reflective surface. Praise God that He does not see me that way! Praise God that, because of His Son, I’m able to be known as I am FULLY known: polished, refined, and perfect. Not by any power of my own, nor by anything I’ve done, but solely by the guiltless blood of the Lamb.

So next time when life presents you with troubles, when the enemy tries to distort the truth and hope of God’s ability to bring beauty from ashes, when the devil hammers you with a distorted reflection of who you are, hang on to the TRUTH that you are a fully known, fully cherished, fully loved, beautiful reflection of the One who made you!

Father, I thank you for the true perspective you have on our lives. For seeing and knowing us fully. For taking hold of any distortions that may come between who You know us to be, and crushing them into dust. Help us keep our eyes on You, the author and perfector of our faith. Help us see our lives, ourselves, and others as You see them. Help us keep perspective. In Jesus’s Name we pray. Amen.

 

About J. N. Hups

I am the author of a 9-part young adult speculative fiction book series called THE CHRONICLES OF SPECTOR. The first book is due to release February 29, 2016, with Mt. Cydesh Publishing Co. Between 2006 - 2014, I served as president, vice president, and secretary of ACFW North Denver, a local chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), and in 2008 was part of a team that implemented social networking and web presence for the ACFW chapters in Colorado. A native Coloradoan, I live in Westminster with my husband of 36 years. I have four grown children, and three "perfect" grandchildren with another on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

