Baby Birds

Sparrows on Lily Plant. Photo by Keith Schengili-Roberts.

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. ~Matthew 6:25-30 NIV

This summer we had two robins roost on our front porch. They produced four hatchlings. One day as my husband left the house, and while Mom and Dad robin were gone, one of the hatchlings got spooked and lept from the nest. The hatchling seemed large enough to fly, but didn’t. Instead, it hopped and flittered across the front yard, through the bushes, and down the street with hubby chasing after it.

My husband’s goal was to catch the baby and return it to the nest. Unfortunately, when my dear sweet hubby tried that, another hatchling freaked out and jump from the nest followed by the hatchling he just caught. This time hubby went chasing after two baby birds who ended up going two different directions. It was quite the sight!

As I think about those baby birds I think about us and God, and how much we are like hatchlings. We get spooked when life takes a crazy turn or something unexpected comes our way. And instead of staying inside the nest where it’s safe, we jump out and start running all over the place. Then the LORD comes along, rounds us up, and puts us back in the safety of the nest only to find we freak out and start the cycle all over again.

How silly we must look to our Creator!

Our Father wants only the best for us. His ways are perfect and His plans, precise. His desire is to keep us safe and provided for in a way that requires us to lean on Him instead of ourselves. How simple that should be. But we, like baby birds, don’t always realize He means to bring good and not harm. So we flee and try to do life on our own. Thank goodness our God is faithful to always chase us down! If only we were equally as faithful to stay in the nest.

LORD, I don’t know why I run from You. I know You love me. I know You know what’s best for me. Yet I continually try to do life on my own. Nonetheless, even when I mess life up You are faithful in returning me to the nest. Thank you, LORD, for being faithful even when I’m not. Thank you for loving me even when I’m unloveable. And thank you for just being. In Jesus’ beautiful name I pray. Amen.

About J. N. Hups

I am the author of a 9-part young adult speculative fiction book series called THE CHRONICLES OF SPECTOR. The first book is due to release February 29, 2016, with Mt. Cydesh Publishing Co. Between 2006 - 2014, I served as president, vice president, and secretary of ACFW North Denver, a local chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), and in 2008 was part of a team that implemented social networking and web presence for the ACFW chapters in Colorado. A native Coloradoan, I live in Westminster with my husband of 36 years. I have four grown children, and three "perfect" grandchildren with another on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Birds

  1. Great reminder, Jill. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

