Changing Colors

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: ~Ecclesiastes 3:1 NIV
 
 
 
Autumn. It’s my favorite time of year. The air is crisp at night but warm during the day. Foliage is filled with breathtaking hues of green, gold, orange, and red. And the scent of warm apple cider and pumpkin pie fill many a kitchen. But autumn, although alluring to the senses, can also bring a hint of sadness in knowing winter is right around the corner.

As the leaves change color and fall to the ground, I’m reminded how God changes the color of our leaves, thus ushering a season of autumn into our lives. He asks us to let go of things we’ve held on to–things that might have brought us comfort. Things we have grown accustom to. Things we don’t want to let die, even if it means new growth is to come in the spring. But God, in His ultimate wisdom, knows these changes are necessary for our survial. And so, whether we like it or not, our leaves change color.

Are you going through a season of change? Do you find God taking that which was once green and ripe and asking you to let it fall to the ground? If so, take heart! For the LORD knows all seeds must fall to the ground and die in order to produce a rich harvest. And from that harvest comes abundance. HIS abundance.

LORD, sometimes I don’t want to let go. I don’t want You to take from me, things I’ve come to treasure. I don’t want my leaves to change color. But in Your wisdom and goodness I know You desire only the best for me. So, LORD, open my hands so the seeds I hold so tightly to can fall to the ground and produce a harvest. Help me trust You, LORD, and open my eyes to see how beautiful changing colors really can be. Thank you! In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

About J. N. Hups

I am the author of a 9-part young adult speculative fiction book series called THE CHRONICLES OF SPECTOR. The first book is due to release February 29, 2016, with Mt. Cydesh Publishing Co. Between 2006 - 2014, I served as president, vice president, and secretary of ACFW North Denver, a local chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), and in 2008 was part of a team that implemented social networking and web presence for the ACFW chapters in Colorado. A native Coloradoan, I live in Westminster with my husband of 36 years. I have four grown children, and three "perfect" grandchildren with another on the way.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

