Giving Thanks


Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.
 ~Psalm 106:1 NIV
 
 
 
Giving thanks. It should be such a simple thing. After all, we live during a time when things are delivered to us in a blink of an eye, and opportunity is just an Internet click away. Even during the most dire times we can still turn to Facebook or Twitter to vent our frustrations, get as much moral support as needed, or “give thanks” in our misery by saying at least I’m not going through what so-and-so is.

Unfortunately, leaning on these things as a litmus test of what it means to be thankful will always leave us feeling empty in the end.

Thankfulness, true thankfulness, is not man-made. It relies on leaning ourselves against God and trusting He is good and desires the best for us, regardless of life’s circumstances. It relies on being satisfied in the deep-seated truth that the LORD’s love endures forever. And it relies on us surrendering to the One who exampled the true meaning of thankfulness to begin with.

LORD, I don’t want my thankfulness to be shallow. I don’t want it to rely on whether or not I’m having a good day or bad. I don’t want it to be finicky; I want it to be deep-seated and true. Help me be satisfied, LORD, so I can rejoice in nothing more than the fact you gave Your life for me. Bore into the depths of my heart the true meaning of thankfulness, and teach me how to walk without grumbling. I praise You, O LORD, and thank You for all You’ve done, are doing, and are about to do. In Jesus’ precious name I pray. Amen.

About J. N. Hups

I am the author of a 9-part young adult speculative fiction book series called THE CHRONICLES OF SPECTOR. The first book is due to release February 29, 2016, with Mt. Cydesh Publishing Co. Between 2006 - 2014, I served as president, vice president, and secretary of ACFW North Denver, a local chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), and in 2008 was part of a team that implemented social networking and web presence for the ACFW chapters in Colorado. A native Coloradoan, I live in Westminster with my husband of 36 years. I have four grown children, and three "perfect" grandchildren with another on the way.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

