New Beginnings


new beginnings
And He Who is seated on the throne said, “See! I make all things new.”

~Rev 21:5 AMP






2012 was a rough year for our family. Lots of change—some good, some bad. Because of this, my two oldest daughters (both adults) decided to usher in 2013 with matching tattoos to remind them this year would be one of new beginnings.
14468_10151256975668369_1749787046_n

Our family heritage is a mixture of German, Scottish, Welch, and Swedish, with the majority of it being German. So it was fitting that their tattoo, a balloon (which represents soaring), has a string scripted into the word “anfangen,” which means “to begin” in German.

“Begin” is an action word. A word that holds promise and newness. A word that says if you messed up you can start over. Dictionary.com defines “begin” this way:

  1. to proceed to perform the first or earliest part of some action; commence; start
  2. to come into existence; arise; originate:
  3. to proceed to perform the first or earliest part of
  4. to originate; be the originator of
  5. to succeed to the slightest extent in

To me, “begin” means no matter how rough today is, no matter what fire we walked through yesterday, no matter what storm we have to face tomorrow, God has a plan of new beginnings for our life—full of hope, forgiveness, and promise.

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’” ~Jeremiah 29:11

As you enter into this new year, remember God will never leave you nor forsake you. He will be there for you with GOOD plans—plans to prosper, not harm, you, plans to give you hope and a future. Plans for new beginnings.

* * * * * * * * * *

Lord, as I walk into this new year I ask that You walk with me. I ask that You help keep my eyes focused on You and not on present circumstances. I thank You for the grace You extend me and the new beginnings You present me with each day. Your love for me is great, O LORD, and Your compassion never fails. It is new every morning. Great is Your faithfulness!

About J. N. Hups

I am the author of a 9-part young adult speculative fiction book series called THE CHRONICLES OF SPECTOR. The first book is due to release February 29, 2016, with Mt. Cydesh Publishing Co. Between 2006 - 2014, I served as president, vice president, and secretary of ACFW North Denver, a local chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), and in 2008 was part of a team that implemented social networking and web presence for the ACFW chapters in Colorado. A native Coloradoan, I live in Westminster with my husband of 36 years. I have four grown children, and three "perfect" grandchildren with another on the way.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

